I'm an aspiring author (haha! I know!)

MusicFreak810

And I'm currently trying to write my second 'novel'/'book' (never published, I wrote it as just a way to get a lot of stuff out, and this will be my second attempt at another one) and it's sort of inspired by Paramore.

It's really not going to be based off of their story of how they became a band and stuff, but the whole 'young teens start a band and make it big' idea has really struck a nerve of inspiration for me since I'm also in a band and we're all around 14-17 years old.

So I was hoping if there's anyone on here who might have an idea on what the music industry is like, how does a band manage to climb to the top and stuff? Is it basically they do some covers, once they've got a good handle on the covers they start writing their own stuff, once they've got a good list of songs of their own do they start playing local venues? Etc etc.

And I'm currently trying to write my second 'novel'/'book' (never published, I wrote it as just a way to get a lot of stuff out, and this will be my second attempt at another one) and it's sort of inspired by Paramore.

It's really not going to be based off of their story of how they became a band and stuff, but the whole 'young teens start a band and make it big' idea has really struck a nerve of inspiration for me since I'm also in a band and we're all around 14-17 years old.

So I was hoping if there's anyone on here who might have an idea on what the music industry is like, how does a band manage to climb to the top and stuff? Is it basically they do some covers, once they've got a good handle on the covers they start writing their own stuff, once they've got a good list of songs of their own do they start playing local venues? Etc etc.